Of workshops, chapter reviews, and a day at the beach

20120626-114606.jpg

My official Fulbright program ended last week, but I still have a lot to do to finish up my Capstone Project and organize its paperwork. Procrastinating? Perhaps. It’s all due by the end of July so I still have a few weeks…

Even though my Fulbright program has officially ended, I will be staying in and around Singapore until August. I’m not as busy as I was earlier in the year, but I am still finding things to do.

On Friday, I will be co-facilitating a drama as pedagogy workshop for primary school Tamil language teachers. I am looking forward to the workshop; I have taught a drama course for ELL students at my school in Seattle for six years, so I am very interested to experiment with and learn about drama / second language techniques the teachers here are using.

The section of the workshop I am faciltiating will be on community development – how to create a safe classroom community for creative self expression. I’ll be facilitating the workshop with a drama teacher and a Chinese language teacher who will focus on improvisation and text based content. These teachers are from Nanyang Girls School. Should be fun.

At the end of next week, I am going to participate in the Singapore National Arts Council inaugural? Pocket Rocket event. The event, from what I understand, is intended to encourage young people to pursue creative community based projects. I get 20 minutes to inspire / share. Seems TED-like Must. think. of. something. cool.

In the next few weeks I’ll be writing an article for the Singapore Drama Educator Association’s annual publication, Dramatise. I’ve been asked to share my impressions of drama education in Singapore in the article. I’m excited to have this opportunity; SDEA is a truly amazing and inspirational organization dedicated to strengthening theatre / drama education in Singapore. I want to support them in any way I can. Amazing people.

I am also currently reviewing a chapter for a new book on theatre in Singapore. The chapter is about drama / theatre education. I am looking forward to reading it.

Oh, yeah, and I’m headed to Malaysia this weekend to go on a firefly Boat tour – cool! – and then to Bangkok for a week mid- July.

In the midst of all of this worky stuff, I am still making going to the beach a priority. Some photos here of a lazy Sunday afternoon at Changi Beach in Singapore.

20120626-114618.jpg

20120626-114628.jpg

20120626-114646.jpg

Leave a Reply

