I want to ride my bicycle…

20120307-094142.jpg

As many of you know, I was in a car accident in the summer of 2007, which happened a week after I had finished my first year of teaching at The Northwest School. Without getting into too much detail (because who wants to read about that? and who wants to write about it?), I was t-boned on the driver’s side by a woman who ran a red light. The accident severely injured my left arm, causing nerve and other damage to my elbow, the brachial plexus, and shoulder, and forced me to undergo two surgeries in order to stabilize the joints in my left arm. I was in physical therapy (often two or three times a week) for four years. Chris Morrow at Pacific Balance is the greatest, by the way. He helped me in a million ways. I am so thankful I had him on my side through that difficult time.

Before the accident, I rode my bicycle almost every day. I looked forward to my daily ride; there’s nothing more freeing than coasting through the woods after a long day at work. Because of the injuries (and nerve pain) to my arm, riding my bicycle was impossible; it was too difficult to hold the handlebars for a long period of time, or even to tolerate riding through bumps and shifts in the texture of the road.

Every year, often on the anniversary of the accident, I tried riding my bike again. Each year I can ride further, but the last time I tried (in August), I still couldn’t ride more than a mile without pain. So pathetic!

The weather in Singapore seems to be really good on my body, so I might be able to ride a bicycle again. Apparently there is good cycling on Pulau Ubin, an island off the northeast coast of Singapore. My friend Kristin is coming from the US to visit soon… maybe I can drag her with me.

One thought on “I want to ride my bicycle…

Leave a Reply

